Non-Competitor

Discussion in 'Beginner Training & Nutrition' started by Cheryl, Dec 23, 2012.

1. Cheryl

Cheryl Member

I'm very new to all this. Sort of feel a little out of my league here, but my main goal has been to convert to a healthy and fit lifestyle. I'm 47 and in August, hired a personal trainer recommended by my friend. I've come a really long way in the last year, and still have quite a way to go.

Things were going very well with my personal trainer, when my friend asked if I wanted to workout with the competitive "girls". I was feeling strong and had leaned out a little and thought I would try it out.

In the meantime, I had been reading a lot on LBC facebook page and this forum, and actually got on the wait list in October because everything I am reading here makes so much sense.

In December, my training and meal plans changed drastically. Calories reduced to 900 per day with reduced carbs and increased protein (which is way below maintenance or deficit for my body weight). Along with 2 a day workouts (am cardio 30-45min / pm strength). Still having much leaning out to do, I felt this was a pretty drastic change and got concerned about where things were going and started to ask questions to my personal trainer. His responses were not very informative; so I think it is time for a breakup with my personal trainer.

It is difficult for me to do this because I am seeing huge impressive changes in my friend; who really wants to compete, but I am afraid of will happen post competition and cannot afford to risk my health or end up back where I was a year ago just for a competition.

I'm really hoping to get off the wait list so that I can properly lean out, then maintain a healthy lifestyle; at which point I would decide it competition is for me. So, until the wait list is updated, I am working on new workouts and meal plans, from what I can find here.

The 3 day full body works, metabolic, HIIT
    Macronutrient - Food Journals